Last night we had some good friends, Pat and Ed, over for dinner. I cooked sausage, red pepper and onion calzones. Instead of relying on store-bought pizza dough, I made it using our usual recipe. It just required 3 cups of flour, 1/2 teaspoon salt, packet of yeast and 1 cup of warm water. After kneading it in the Kitchenaid mixer, I covered it and placed it in a warm oven for an hour. Easy as pie, we had dough ready by the time that we were ready to cook. Paula recruited Pat to help her make each individual calzone and we baked them on the pizza stone for 10 minutes. Everyone loved them and I must say that they were quite tasty. Paula made everyone an individual caprese salad using locally grown tomatoes, locally-made mozzarella and basil from our garden. She added a splash of balsamic vinegar, which gave it just the right punch. For dessert, I made popsicles – cappuccino and green apple. They were a big hit, probably due to the fact that it has been so hot outside that they made for a refreshing end to the meal. Ed brought some delicious summer beers to enjoy with dinner and we cut up some orange to go in them to add a little citrus. It was terrific! All light summer beers do well with a splash of citrus…
All in all it was a fun way to spend the evening. Before we left, I told Pat that I would help her plan their upcoming trip to Italy. I have been there several times and Paula has always felt like I delivered a good time so I will be glad to help someone else do the same.

