Tonight we enjoyed a soup that I made on Sunday. It was from the May 2012 Cooking Light and it was called Thai Chicken Soup. It was real easy to throw together – especially since I improvised a little bit! I added 3 cups of chicken broth and 3 cups of water to a pot. I added 1/2 cup of thinly sliced (with the mandoline again…) of sweet onion that I found at the farmer’s market, 2 tablespoons of minced garlic, 1 teaspoon of dried ginger, and 1 teaspoon of lemon peel (since I could not find lemongrass at the grocery store. When this came to a boil, I added 1 cup of shredded chicken, 1 bunch of kale (cut up into thin pieces and about 4-5 ounces of spinach. Finally, after the greens had wilted into the soup, I added 3 tablespoons of lime juice, a generous sprinkling of salt and some dried cilantro and basil (since I did not have any fresh yet…). It made the house smell good and tasted even better when we had it for dinner on Tuesday. Since I had made it on Sunday, Paula just needed to cook up some rice noodles to go in the soup when she woke up on Tuesday.

