Tonight I made some veggie burritos. I found the recipe in Cooking Light and it looked good. They were called by the too long name of Vegetable and Rice Burritos with Quesadilla Cheese. First, I heated some olive oil in a saucepan and then cooked some garlic cloves (minced). I heated some rice to the garlic and when it was fragrant, I added everything to the rice cooker and let it cook. While that was happening, TJ mixed up some sour cream with cilantro, lemon juice and a little bit of red pepper. Then we cooked up some chopped onions and zucchini in a saucepan. I left out the mushrooms… When that was cooked, I added some frozen corn and some grape tomatoes that were halved. All of this was heated. When the rice was done, I coated some whole-wheat tortillas with the sour cream mixture, added the vegetable mixture along with some cheese and wrapped up everything inside the tortilla. After heating each burrito in the microwave for 1 minute, we were ready to eat. This was an easy meal and surprisingly tasty!  It is definitely something to consider again as we head into summer and the growing abundance of fresh vegetables available at the farmer’s market.

 

 

