Tonight was the PTA Open House at my school so I had to be ready to give my pep talk about 6:30 PM. Paula was also working all day and TJ had practice. Needless to say, we did not have a lot of time. On Sunday, I threw together a Beef-Vegetable Soup. I cut up butternut squash, fennel bulb, carrots and potatoes. I tossed them with some olive oil and roasted them in the oven for 25 minutes. While the vegetables were roasting, I browned some stew beef in a dutch oven. After removing the meat, I browned some chopped onion and added some minced garlic right at the end of cooking the onion. Then I put the meat back in the pan, added 8 cups of beef broth and 2 cups of water and simmered for about 20 minutes. I seasoned the soup with some thyme and nutmeg. When the vegetables finished roasted, I added them to the soup and it was done. Paula also cooked some barley in the rice cooker while I put together the soup. It all came together in about 45 minutes. I brought the soup to school this morning along with our crock pot. At lunch, I put the soup in the crock pot in my storeroom and let it simmer until we were ready for dinner. It was delicious. Even on hurried days like this, it feels good to have something homemade and delicious. Eating in my classroom is not the ideal situation but at least all three of us had a tasty and filling meal!

 

