We had my Burmese students over for dinner today and I chose a Asian recipe from the April 2013 Rachel Ray magazine. It was called Vietnamese Noodle Bowl with Glazed Pork. The meal was quite tasty and all of the girls enjoyed it.  I started by by mixing  2 tbsp. fish sauce, 2 tablespoons of brown sugar, 1/2 teaspoon of grated garlic and 2 tbsp. water in a bowl and stirring until the sugar dissolves. Then I cut up about 1 1/2 pounds of thinly sliced pork cutlet into thin pieces (about 1/4 inch thick). I put the pork in a resealable bag with the fish sauce mixture and massaged to coat the pork. I then let the pork marinate at room temperature for at least 1 hour. When it was time to serve dinner, I brought a large pot of water to a boil. While the water was getting hot, I mixed  1/2 cup of lime juice, 1/4 cup fish sauce, and 1/4 cup of granulated sugar. (Note: The recipe called for adding one small red chile but we just put hot sauce on the table when the meal was served instead.) When the water was boiling, I added about 1 pound of dried rice vermicelli to the boiling water and cooked until tender, about 5 minutes. When the noodles were done, I rinsed under cold water and drain well. We added a little of the fish sauce-lime mixture to the noodles so they would not stick together. Finally, in a large, heavy skillet or wok, heat 2 tablespoons of vegetable oil over high heat until smoking. Add the pork with the marinade. Cook, turning until the meat is golden-brown, 4 to 5 minutes and until the marinade is thickened to a glaze. We served everything family style although you could also divide the noodles among bowls and arrange the pork, cucumbers, carrots, lettuce, cilantro and mint on top. Pour on the dressing before eating. Everyone enjoyed the meal and it was a hit! Very delicious!

Vietnamese Noodle Bowl with Glazed Pork

