Tonight Theodore and I had Loaded Mashed Potato Soup. It was an easy recipe that I found in the October 2014 issue of Cooking Light. I made it on Sunday and we had it when the two of us came home from my SIT meeting at school.

Heat a Dutch oven over medium heat. Coat the Dutch oven with cooking spray. Add 3/4 cup of chopped onion and cook 8 minutes or until tender, stirring frequently. Add 3 minced garlic cloves and 1 thyme sprig (or 1 teaspoon of dried thyme) and cook for 2 minutes, stirring frequently. Add 3 cups of chicken stock and simmer 20 minutes or until 1-2 pound of cut up Yukon Gold potatoes are cooked. Remove and discard the thyme sprig. Use a stick blender (or regular blender) and blend until smooth.

Keep the soup warm until ready to eat. Then remove from the heat and stir in 1/4 plain Greek yogurt and 2 tablespoons of fresh dill (Note: I used 1 teaspoon dry dill since that was available). Ladle into serving bowls and top with green onions, shredded cheddar cheese, and crumbled bacon.

This was a hearty soup to enjoy on a cold fall night! Theodore and I both recommend it!

