On Monday. Theodore and I made a special meal for Paula for Mother’s Day. We cooked her Chicken Marsala along with a side of risotto and peas. She really enjoyed the meal and it was wonderful to have all three of us together again.

To make the chicken marsala, we adapted a recipe for veal marsala. First, I pounded several chicken breasts until they were relatively thin. Then Theodore dredged each piece with some flour and cooked them in a few tablespoons of butter. Prior to cooking the chicken, he cooked about 1 cup of thinly sliced mushrooms and some broccoli that had been cut into bite size pieces. Then he set those aside until he was ready to make the gravy. Anyway, after cooking the chicken as well as the mushrooms and broccoli, he made a gravy starting with a cup of marsala wine. As the wine cooked down a little, he added about 1 cup of chicken broth along with several tablespoons of flour to thicken the gravy a little. As the gravy started to thicken, he put the broccoli and mushrooms back into the pan so that they could soak up some of the flavor.

While Theodore was cooking the chicken, I cooked the risotto. First, I sweated some finely chopped onion in a small saucepan. Then I heated 1 cup of arborio rice in the same saucepan. Once the rice was heated through, I added 1 cup of chicken broth and turned the heat down to low. I stirred the rice frequently. When most of the chicken broth was absorbed, I added another cup of chicken broth and continued the process. I then repeated the process one more time with a third cup of broth. During the last 3-4 minutes, I added 1 cup of thawed frozen peas to the rice. When all the broth was absorbed, I finished the risotto by adding 1/3 cup of Parmesan cheese.

Theodore plated the dishes by putting some risotto on the plate, then topping it with a piece of chicken and finally adding some of the gravy on top of the chicken. It was  a wonderful Mother’s Day meal, even if it was one day late!

