I saw this recipe Grilled Margherita Sandwiches, in the August 2015 issue of Cooking Light. Our friend Christine gave us some fresh tomatoes when she visited, so I picked up a ball of fresh mozzarella and some basil at the farmer’s market and made these sandwiches tonight.

Start with some whole grain bread. I used a small loaf of sourdough bread that I bought at the local co-op after dropping TJ off at work. I sliced the bread into half-inch slices. Then I spread a tablespoon of marinara sauce on one of the slices using some open sauce in the refrigerator. Then I sliced some tomatoes and put them on top of the marinara sauce. I topped this with a slice of the fresh mozzarella and some basil leaves. Then I topped it with another bread slice. While I made the sandwiches, I heated up a skillet over medium-low heat with a few tablespoons of olive oil in it. When the skillet was hot, I added the sandwiches. I heated the sandwiches for about 2-3 minutes on each side until they had browned slightly.

While I made the sandwiches, Paula cooked up a couple of ears of corn that we enjoyed with the sandwiches. This was a wonderful summer meal! I would definitely make this again, especially if the tomatoes are still available in another week!

