On Sunday, I made a soup that we could have ready for dinner on Monday. It was a recipe that Paula found in Rachel Ray’s magazine and it was an easy meal to prepare. It was also cool enough outside that we were able to put it in the cooler and just leave it on the back deck.

First, I added some olive oil to a big soup pot and heated it up. Then I added 1 large chopped onion and 4 medium chopped Yukon Gold potatoes to the pot. I cooked the onions and potatoes for 3-4 minutes until the onions started to soften. Then I added about 3 tablespoons of chopped fresh rosemary and salt and pepper. After stirring the seasonings into the mixture, I added 1 large head of cauliflower that I had chopped up into the pot. I stirred the cauliflower into the mixture and cooked for another 3-4 minutes in order to start to soften them up. Then I added 1 chopped roasted red pepper that I had in a jar in the refrigerator to the pot along with 6 cups of chicken broth and another cup of water. When the soup started to boil, I added a large bag of chopped kale (about 1 pound) to the pot and stirred it around so that the kale wilted. Then I seasoned the soup with some fresh nutmeg and allowed it to cook on low heat for about 5 minutes. At that point I turned off the heat and the soup was ready for dinner on the next day.

This was a simple but a tasty meal! It was a good meal for a cool fall evening…

