Tonight I made Hungarian noodles with Sausage. It was a recipe that I found in the November issue of Food Network magazine. Since the weather got cold again, it seemed like this might be good dish to make. With the noodles and creamy sauce, it seemed like it warm your insides and it did!

I started by bringing large pot of salted water to a boil. I then added 8 ounces of egg noodles and cooked as the label directed. I also reserved 1/2 cup of the cooking water before draining the noodles.

While the water was getting to a boil, I heated a few tablespoons of olive oil in a large pot or Dutch oven over medium-high heat. Then I added 3 sweet Italian turkey sausage (with their casings removed) and cooked the sausage by breaking it up with a wooden spoon, until it crumbled and lightly browned. This took about 3-5 minutes. Next I added 1 chopped onion and cooked the onion, stirring occasionally, until it softened, about 3-4 more minutes. After this , I added 1 clove of minced garlic, 3/4 cup of chopped red peppers and 1 tablespoon of paprika and cooked everything, stirring, another 1-2 minutes. Once everything was mixed, I added 1 cup of chicken broth, 1/2 of a head of Savoy cabbage (that had been sliced 1 inch thick) and 1/2 teaspoon salt. I brought everything to a gentle simmer and cooked until the cabbage was tender, about 4 minutes.

Finally I added the noodles and 1/3 cup of sour cream to the sausage mixture. I cooked a little bit longer, stirring, until well coated, about 30 seconds (but do not boil the mixture!). Add some of the reserved cooking water as needed to loosen the sausage-noodle mixture. Stir in any dill or parsley that you might have on hand and season with a little salt and pepper.

This really did turn out to be a tasty meal. It was kinda like a twist on Hungarian goulash but with sausage instead of beef. The sausage gave it a little bit more flavor. Best of all, it was actually pretty easy to make!
