This afternoon I made a large batch of chili. Theodore “challenged me to be creative so I decided to take him up on the offer by making some chili for the Carrboro High School Chili Cook-Off this week.

I made up the entire recipe from scratch. First, I browned 3 1/2 pounds of ground beef. Then I chopped up 1 large yellow onion, 2 poblano chiles, 1 green pepper, 2 serrano chiles, and 2 habanero chiles. I cooked the onions and chiles for 4-5 minutes until they softened.

Finally I added 4 15-ounce cans of cannellini beans, 4 15-ounce cans of black beans, 4 cans of diced tomatoes, 1 28-ounce can of tomato puree to the ground beef and onion pepper mixture. I stirred all of this to mix everything up. Then I seasoned it with 2 tablespoons of Mexican chocolate, 2 teaspoons of chipotle powder, 2 teaspoons of ground cumin, and salt to taste.

I brought the chili to a boil and then I cooked everything on low heat for several hours until the flavors mixed. The house smelled quite good. I don’t know if I will win the contest but I think that we will have some good chili this week for dinner. It will really hit the spot since it is so cold outside at the moment.

