I have not been writing too much in my blog for the past two months. Now that I am retired, I am hoping to return to writing regularly as well as expand on what I am writing about. I hope that many folks who used to look at my blog might return now that I am going to make more effort.

Tonight I made dinner for Paula and myself. I found a recipe that sounded good in the recent (July 2016) issue of Food Network magazine called Spiced Beef Patties with Couscous. What caught my attention was the fact that I could make enough of this recipe (i.e. the beef patties…) so that we could enjoy it on two different nights. While Paula was sleeping before going to work, I mixed up the ingredients for the beef patties. After she got up, I cooked up the couscous and the cooked a few beef patties for the two of us. It was easy and took very little time.

Combine 2 pounds of ground beef, 4 finely chopped scallions, 1 1/2 teaspoons of ground cumin, 1 teaspoon of ground cinnamon, 1 teaspoon salt and 1 finely grated carrot and 1 1/4 teaspoons of  paprika in a large bowl. Mix with your hands until just combined. Form into 6-8 3/4-inch-thick oval patties.
Combine 2 cups water, 1 grated carrot, 2 tablespoons olive oil, 3 tablespoons of  chopped dried apricots, 1/4 teaspoon salt and a few grinds of pepper in a medium saucepan and bring to a boil. Add 1 1/2 cups of couscous. Cover and remove from the heat. Set aside until ready to serve.

Meanwhile, mix 1/2 cup of plain yogurt, 1/4 cup of chopped cilantro, 1 teaspoon paprika and a large pinch of salt in a small bowl and set aside.

Heat the remaining 1 tablespoon olive oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add the patties and cook until browned, 4 to 5 minutes per side for medium rare. Fluff the couscous with a fork and stir in the remaining cilantro. Serve the patties with the couscous and yogurt sauce.

