It was raining yesterda so I didn’t get to do any work outside. I wrote a few letters as well as an entry in my journal. I also did some reading. Paula was not working so we were able to cook dinner and have a relaxing meal together. I found this recipe, Sausage, Tomato and Fennel Shells, in the recent issue of Rachael Ray magazine. It turned out to be tasty meal. We made enough to leave some leftovers for Theodore.

In large skillet, cook 3/4 lb. of sweet Italian sausage over medium-high, breaking up with a spoon, until browned, about 5 minutes. Add 1 bulb of chopped fennel, 1 cup of white wine, 6 ounce of halved cherry tomatoes (Note: I used Campari tomatoes that I quartered instead), 4 tablespoons of butter and 1 finely chopped shallot. Cook until softened, about 12 to 14 minutes. Stir in 3/4 lb. of pasta shells and 1/2 cup cooking water if needed. Season with salt and pepper. Top with Parmesan, lemon zest and fennel fronds. Serve and enjoy!

