With summer here, there are lots of tomatoes available so I made gazpacho for dinner this week. Paula was in the mood for some grilled cheese with the soup so I made a few sandwiches to go with the gazpacho when we enjoyed it last night. I made our favorite recipe, Moroccan Red Gazpacho.  I have written about this recipe on several other occasions but I doubt that I will ever tire of writing about it. While there are numerous recipes for making this simple, wonderful summer soup, this one has to be one of the best. Adding the various spices – garam masala, cinnamon, cumin, and sherry vinegar – to the soup really gives it an incredible boost of flavor.

Best of all, this soup is so easy to make. You just coarsely chop up a medium onion, a red pepper, a cucumber (minus the seeds) and a pound or more of tomatoes along with a 28-ounce can of tomato puree and one piece of bread that has been soaked in some hot water. Just blend all of this in the food processor until smooth and add the spices (2 teaspoons of garam masala, 3/4 teaspoon of salt, 1/2 teaspoon of cumin, and 1/4 teaspoon of cinnamon) and you are ready to go. If you like your soup chilled, you can put it in the refrigerator for an hour or so. If you have not tried it yet, I really encourage you to do so while the fresh tomatoes are still in season!

