I found a recipe called Grilled Balsamic Chicken Salad with Spiced Pecans in the the July 2016 Cooking Light and decided to make it for dinner. It was pretty easy to make and pretty darn delicious. I really liked the balsamic dressing, although it was quite simple, and the spiced pecans. Both of them added some nice flavors to this simple meal.

First, I bought some chicken tenders instead of the boneless chicken breasts that the recipe called for. These were easier to cook and made everything just a little bit simpler. I cooked the chicken tenders on the grill in a grill pan. I seasoned them with salt and pepper on both sides, before and after turning them. While I cooked the chicken tenders, I made the dressing. It was very easy. Just mix 4 tablespoons of olive oil, 2 tablespoons of balsamic vinegar, 1 teaspoon of fresh minced garlic and 1 teaspoon of Dijon mustard. While I finished cooking the chicken, Paula toasted the pecans. She put 4-5 tablespoons of pecan halves in a small frying pan. When they started to toast over medium heat, she added 1 teaspoon of butter and 1 tablespoon of brown sugar to the pecans. After they cooked in the butter-sugar mixture for a minute or so, she removed them from the pan. Paula split the pecans and added a few drops of hot sauce to mine.

It was very easy to make the salad. We just put some mixed greens on the plate, added a few chicken tenderloins, dropped the pecans and some fresh raspberries on top and then drizzled the dressing over everything. This was a very tasty meal and both of us enjoyed it. I opened a wheat beer to have with my meal. It was not the best choice. In retrospect, it would have been better to have something darker. Oh. Well. I will remember for the next time.

File_000

