I made soup tonight. I’m not sure why this soup sounded so good but it caught my eye in the September Cooking Light and I thought that it would be good to make this week. Perhaps it was because I cooked some gnocchi last week for Paula and I. Perhaps it was because I was in the mood for some soup. I don’t really know and it doesn’t matter. The soup, Chicken and Gnocchi Dumpling Soup (Doesn’t that seem a bit redundant to use gnocchi and dumpling in the recipe title?) was incredibly tasty. I encourage you to try it, even if you decide to wait until the weather gets a little cooler.

If you do decide to give this relatively easy recipe a whirl, here are the ingredients that you will need:

1 tablespoon olive oil
12 ounces skinless, boneless chicken thighs, cut into bite-size pieces
1/2 teaspoon kosher salt, divided
1 1/2 cups chopped red onion
1 cup chopped celery
1 cup chopped or shredded carrot
1 tablespoon chopped fresh rosemary
1 tablespoon chopped fresh thyme
5 cups unsalted chicken stock, divided
8 ounces (whole-wheat) gnocchi
2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
1 cup frozen green peas
1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
First, I prepared all of the ingredients. I cut up the chicken thighs and chopped up the onion, celery, carrot, thyme and rosemary. After all the ingredients were prepped, I started the cooking.I heated a large Dutch oven over medium-high heat. Then I added the olive oil. When the oil was hot, I added the chicken and then sprinkled the chicken with some teaspoon salt and pepper. I cooked the chicken for about 5 minutes, until it started to become browned while stirring occasionally. Then I removed the chicken from pan and set aside in a small bowl.

Next I added the onion, celery, carrot, rosemary, and thyme to the pan. I cooked the vegetables for about 7 minutes, until they became tender. Then I added 4 cups of stock and brought everything to a boil. Once the soup was boiling, I reduced the heat and added the chicken and peas. I also added another cup of chicken stock that I had mixed with the flour to the soup at this point. I continued to simmer until we ready to eat.

When we ready to eat, I brought the soup to a rolling boil and then  added the gnocchi and continued to cook the soup for about 3 minutes, until the gnocchi started to float to the surface.

I served the soup right in the pot and we just dished it out in the bowls at the table. Everyone enjoyed the soup. TJ actually ate with us tonight and he said that it was good and wondered what other dishes might go good with gnochhi. He suggested beef stew or stroganoff. Paula told him that he was free to try it on us, that we would be willing to eat it for dinner some night. We will see…

