Our long-time friend Susan came over for dinner tonight. Paula wasn’t working so we could relax and catch up with her. I made a recipe that I found in Cooking Light that I adapted slightly. It involved cooking some pork chops and apples in a skillet. I also prepared some roasted potatoes to go with the main dish. It was pretty tasty – I do believe that everyone enjoyed it since there was nothing left over!

If you are interested in making this dish, here is what you need to do…

Heat a large skillet over medium-high heat. Add 2 teaspoons of olive oil to the pan and swirl to coat. Sprinkle the 3-4 boneless pork chops evenly with salt and pepper. Add the pork chops to the pan and cook for about 4 minutes on each side or until they are done. Remove from pan and keep covered to keep warm.

Now combine 1/2 cup of chicken stock and 1 teaspoon of Dijon mustard, stirring with a whisk. Add 1 tablespoon of olive oil to the pan and swirl. Add 1/2 teaspoon salt, 1/2 teaspoon pepper, 1 tablespoon of ground sage, 1 1/2 teaspoons of chopped fresh rosemary, 2 thinly sliced apples, and 1 small, thinly sliced onion to the pan. Cook for 4-5 minutes, stirring occasionally. Stir in the chicken stock mixture. Return the pork chops to the pan and cook for 3 minutes or until liquid is reduced by half. Serve and enjoy!

For the potatoes, I just cut up 4-5 Yukon Gold potatoes. I tossed the potatoes with some olive oil, salt and pepper and chopped fresh rosemary. Then I roasted them in the oven for about 15-20 minutes at 400 degrees.

