Last night I made dinner for Paula and I. It was a simple meal using some ingredients that we had in the refrigerator and freezer. I started by making a simple citrus “salsa.” I put the slices of 1 orange and 1 grapefruit in a bowl. I added 1 thinly sliced shallot and 1 handful of chopped fresh parsley. Then I added 2 teaspoons of olive oil and 1/4 teaspoon of salt. I mixed up all of the ingredients and let them sit in the bowl for a while.

Then I made a salad for the two of us. I took some  mixed greens, cucumber slices and grape tomatoes and put them together in a salad bowl with some croutons.

Finally, I cooked up some salmon for us. I had a large salmon fillet in the freezer.  After thawing the salmon, I sprinkled the fillet with some salt and pepper. Then I cooked it in a skillet with 2 tablespoons of olive oil over medium heat. I covered the salmon to insure that the pieces cooked quicker and cooked them for 4 minutes on each side.

When I served the meal, I put some of the citrus salsa on both plates. Then I topped it with a piece of salmon. We served the salad separately. Paula opened a bottle of Primitivo from VJB cellars and that went well with the fist and salad. All in all, it was a delicious – and easy – meal!

