I made tilapia and risotto for Paula and I this evening. We keep tilapia fillets in the freezer. I took out a couple of them in the morning so that they would thaw. When it came time to cook dinner, I coated them with some panko bread crumbs while a few tablespoons of olive oil heated up in a skillet over medium heat. When the skillet was hot, I placed the fillets in the skillet and cooked them for about 3-4 minutes on each side. It may require a little more time depending on the size of the fillets.

In order to make the risotto, I used the microwave. I finely chopped up 1/2 of a yellow onion. I cooked the onion in a microwave proof dish for 2 minutes. Then I added 1 cup of risotto, stirred it into the onions and cooked everything for another 2 minutes. Then I added 1 cup of chicken broth, stirred and cooked for 8 minutes. After stirring everything, I added another cup of chicken broth and 1 cup of frozen (but thawed!…) peas. I cooked all of this for another 8 minutes. Most of the moisture should be absorbed at this time. If it isn’t, you may want to stir everything and cook for another 1-2 minutes. Sprinkle with some Parmesan cheese and stir.

We enjoyed this meal a lot. Risotto is so delicious. It is hearty and really warms your insides, which makes it a wonderful dish to enjoy in the cold weather. You can add almost any ingredient to the risotto such as chopped carrots or mushrooms. There are so many different variations and it is also good just by itself.

