I made a dish that we enjoyed several weeks ago for dinner tonight. It made so much chili that I was able to make several variations over the past few weeks. I have found that it is difficult to make dishes for just the two of us this fall. Perhaps as I cook more – for just the two of us – I will do a better job of figuring things out. In the meantime, we will continue to enjoy leftovers. Fortunately, we make some good food so the leftovers are also tasty.

In case you want to try to make this dish, look up my post on Chili Potpie. I explained how to make it in that post and if you are like us, then you may end up some leftovers. I just packaged them in some Tupperware containers and put them in the freezer. This afternoon, the only part of the dish that I needed to make was the biscuits. Since they were drop biscuits, they were pretty easy to make. Here is what you need to do..

Combine 1 cup flour, 1/4 cup of plain yellow cornmeal, and 2 teaspoons of baking powder in a bowl. Cut 2 tablespoons of frozen unsalted butter and 3/4 cup of grated cheddar cheese into the flour mixture using a pastry blender. It should resemble coarse meal afterwards. Stir in 1/2 cup of buttermilk until it is just combined. Drop the flour mixture evenly over chili to form biscuits (note: each biscuit should be about 1 tablespoon in size).

Turn on the oven to 475°F  and then bake for 15 minutes or until the biscuits are golden brown. Sprinkle with parsley, if desired. We didn’t have any since I had used it last night but the dish still tasted very good!

This dish is a terrific one to enjoy in the winter when the nights are cold. It is filling and will leave you feeling warm inside. I added some hot sauce to my serving since I enjoy a little heat with most of my food. Paula skipped the hot sauce.

