Last night I made a simple stir-fry for Paula and myself. I cut up some sirloin steak into bite-size strips. Then I made some rice for the two of us in the rice cooker.

Once the rice was finished, I heated up several tablespoons of canola oil in our wok over high heat. I added the meat and cooked for 2-3 minutes, until the meat was cooked through. Then I removed the meat and set aside.

Next I added another 2 tablespoons of canola oil to the wok. When it was shimmering, I added one package of frozen stir-fry vegetables that we had in the freezer. I cooked the vegetables (broccoli, water chestnuts, carrots, onions, peppers) for about 5 minutes until they were done. Then I added some sesame oil and soy sauce and coated the vegetables with both. Finally I added the meat back to the wok and stirred it into the vegetable mixture to heat it up again.

That is all that it takes! Simple and fast and easy! I served the rice in a bowl and the meat and vegetables in another bowl. Paula and I enjoyed the meal. The soy sauce and sesame oil gave it just the right amount in flavor. In retrospect, I think that I should have added a little Sriracha sauce to mine to give it a little bit of zip. Oh. Well. I will do it next time.

