Last night I made an easy meal for Paula and myself. I grilled a smoked sausage on the grill. But before I grilled the sausage, I prepared a side dish that was interesting but tasty.

I halved an acorn squash and removed all of the seeds..Then I sliced the squash into 1/2 inch slices. I tossed the slices with 3 tablespoons of olive oil, 1 teaspoon of salt and some ground pepper. I placed the squash on a baking sheet and roasted it at 425 degrees Fahrenheit until it was browned and tender. This took about 20 minutes. (Once the squash was in the oven, I turned on the grill and then cooked the sausage…)

When the squash was done cooking, I drizzled it with some balsamic vinegar and topped with toasted almond slices and grated ricotta salata cheese.

The cheese and balsamic vinegar complimented the sweetness of the squash quite well. Additionally, by roasting the squash, the entire squash was edible, even the skin. The squash and sausage made for a good combination. It was an easy meal and both of us enjoyed it a lot…especially since I also opened a bottle of Nebbiolo from VJB vineyards to go with the meal.

IMG_1104

