Paula was not feeling very well so I made a simple meal for dinner tonight. I pan fried some white fish in the skillet. I also made a simple salad with greens, tomatoes and cucumber. Then I made some macaroni and cheese using the recipe that I had discovered in Cooks Illustrated earlier this year.

I topped my fish with some homemade chermoula sauce. Our friends Carolyn and Ron gave us a lot of cilantro last week. Paula made 12 quarts of salsa with the cilantro and then canned it so we could enjoy it all summer long. As for the chermoula sauce, it was a little too spicy for Paula but I thought that it gave some zing to the fish. If you have some cilantro and want to make something that could go on fish or meat or chicken, here’s the recipe…

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups of packed cilantro leaves
  • 4 medium cloves garlic, peeled
  • 1/4 cup of lemon juice
  • 1 tablespoon paprika
  • 2 teaspoons ground cumin
  • 1/2 teaspoon cayenne
  • 1/8 teaspoon crushed saffron
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • Kosher salt, to taste 

Place cilantro and garlic in the workbowl of a food processor fitted with a steel blade. Pulse until all ingredients are finely chopped, stopping to scrape down sides of bowl as necessary. Add the lemon juice, paprika, cumin, cayenne, and saffron and pulse to combine. With motor running, drizzle olive through feed tube. Process until sauce is uniform. Use immediately or transfer to an airtight container and store in refrigerator.

 

