On Thursday evening, Paula and I enjoyed homemade mushroom ravioli. It was absolutely delicious. I made the filling and Paula made the dough.

I made the filling on Wednesday. To do so, I first finely chopped two shallots and 5 cloves of garlic. Then I sauteed them until they were soft and most of the moisture had been evaporated. While the shallots and garlic were cooking, I chopped up about 10 ounces of cremini mushrooms in the food processor. I also chopped up the reconstituted ounce of dried porcini mushrooms. After I had cooked the shallots and garlic for about 5 minutes, I added the mushrooms. I continued to cook the mixture over medium heat. After about 3 minutes on the heat, I added the liquid that was created when I reconstituted the porcini. I continued to cook them for another 10 minutes over medium heat until most of their moisture had been evaporated. By the time that I finished cooking everything, I had a thick, intense mushroom mixture. I kept this in the refrigerator until we made the ravioli on Thursday. Before adding the filling to the ravioli, I added 1/4 cup of cream cheese to the mushroom mixture and stirred it together.

Paula used a standard pasta dough recipe, She used the 00 flour that we keep on hand for our homemade pizza. We used our pasta maker to roll out the dough along with the ravioli maker that we had bought several years ago. When all was said and done, we ended up with 18 good sized ravioli. Although I thought the ravioli came out quite good, Paula felt like we should have rolled out the pasta even thinner. We will try to do that next time.

IMG_1177

I cooked the ravioli in boiling water for about 6 minutes. When they were done cooking, we put the ravioli in shallow dishes and poured some really good olive oil over them. Then we sprinkled a little grated Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese over the ravioli.

IMG_1178

We enjoyed the ravioli with a salad, which provided just the right touch. It was truly delicious and a treat for both of us!

