Tonight I made a simple meal for Paula and myself. It was Pierogis and Italian Sausage. We had several Italian sausage in  the freezer so I decided to use them. I bought a package of frozen pierogis along with a red pepper and a Vidalia onion. We already had the garlic at home. I also had some basil leftover from the tomato sauce that I had made on Sunday.

First, I brought a large pot of salted water to a boil. I cooked the pierogi as the label directs and reserved 3/4 cup cooking water before draining the pierogis.

Then I heated 2 tablespoons of olive oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. I cooked two links of Italian sausage with the casings removed. As I cooked the sausage, I used a spatula to break it up and cooked the sausage until it was browned. This took about 6 to 8 minutes. I reduced the heat to medium and added 1 red bell peppers that had been sliced, 1 Vidalia onion that I thinly sliced, 3 cloves of garlic that I had smashed and a few red pepper flakes. I continued to cook everything, stirring until the vegetables are tender, about 7-8 minutes. Finally, I seasoned with some salt.

Lastly, I added the pierogi to the skillet and tossed them with the sausage and vegetables. I put 1 tablespoon of butter and 1/4 cup of the reserved cooking water in the pan. I cooked everything over medium heat, stirring gently, until the butter melts, adding more cooking water as needed to loosen. Before serving, I stirred in the basil.

This was a very tasty meal and really easy to make. Paula and I enjoyed it. We had a delicious meal before she headed off to work.

