IMG_1208

Paula and I haven’t enjoyed any fish for a little while so I decided to make this dish tonight. It sounded tasty and tomatoes are starting to come into season. I found the recipe, Seared Salmon with Balsamic-Blistered Tomatoes in the June issue of Cooking Light. I only used one piece of salmon (about 1 pound) for both of us. It was quite tasty. If you want to try this dish, here is what you will need to do. It doesn’t take very long to prepare; most of the prep time involves cooking the salmon and tomatoes in the oven.

We also had some leftover rice so I incorporated the rice into the meal.  When I was cooking the shallots, I added the rice to the skillet. After cooking the shallots, I added the tomatoes along with 1/2 cup of frozen (but thawed) peas to the skillet. When it came time for the balsamic vinegar, I added that along with the basil at the end. I guess that you could say that I made “balsamic fried rice with tomatoes and peas.” It turned out to be quite tasty and was an easy way to use up the rice as well as provide a side dish for the salmon.

Ingredients:

  • 2 tablespoons of olive oil
  • 1 salmon fillet
  • 1 teaspoon of kosher salt
  • 1 teaspoon of freshly ground black pepper
  • 1/2 cup of thinly sliced shallots
  • 2-3 cups of cherry tomatoes
  • 1/2 cup of torn basil leaves
  • 2 tablespoons of balsamic vinegar

Directions:

Preheat oven to 500 degrees. Line a rimmed baking sheet with aluminum foil.

Heat 1 tablespoon of olive oil in a large cast-iron skillet over high heat. Sprinkle the salmon fillet with 1/2 teaspoon of salt and 1/2 teaspoon of pepper. Put the fillet in the pan and cook for 4 minutes on one side until golden brown. Place the fillet, seared side up, on the baking sheet.

Bake at 500 degrees for about 4 minutes.

Return the skillet to the stove top and heat to medium-high heat. Add the shallots and saute for 2 minutes. Add 1/2 teaspoon of salt and 1/2 teaspoon of pepper along with the tomatoes and 1/4 cup of the basil. Cook for 2 minutes or until the tomatoes begin to break down. Stir in the vinegar and cook for an additional minute.

