Last night I made dinner for Paula. She had worked in the morning to make sure that her unit moved into their new location. But she was not working that evening so we were able to enjoy a pleasant meal together. Afterwards we played a bit of Farkle. Paula had been working very hard for the previous week so I bought her a bottle of malbec to celebrate the fact that the move was now done.

I made some pan-seared salmon for our protein. I read about an easy way to produce tasty salmon fillets in Cooks Illustrated. It required brining the salmon for 15 minutes before you cook them. I dissolved 1/2 cup of kosher salt in 2 quarts of water. I cut the salmon fillet into 4 pieces and placed them in the brine solution. After the 15 minutes, I removed them from the brine and patted them dry with a few paper towels.

Then I sprinkled the bottom of a 12-inch nonstick skillet with salt and pepper. I placed the fillets with the skin side down in the skillet and sprinkled the top with a little more salt and pepper. I heated the skillet over medium-high heat and cooked the fillets until the fat began to render. This took about 6 minutes. Then I flipped the fillets and continued to cook them until the centers were cooked, another 6 minutes. I placed two fillets on each of our plates, skin side down and placed them on the table.

Meanwhile I made us some ‘zucchini spaghetti.” Paula gave me a spiralizer for our anniversary and I decided it was time to give it a try. I bought 1 zucchini and 1 yellow squash. I put both of them through the spiralizer on the thin spiral blade to make the spaghetti.

I also made a simple sauce. I put 1 14.5-ounce can of stewed tomatoes, 1 6-ounce can of tomato paste, 2 tablespoons of chopped fresh parsley, 2 cloves of minced garlic and 1/2 teaspoon of dried oregano into a food processor and blended until everything was smooth. Then I cooked 1/4 cup of diced onion in a skillet with 3 tablespoons of olive oil for a few minutes to soften the onion. I added the tomato mixture, seasoned with salt and pepper and cooked for 30 minutes (while I prepared the salmon and zucchini). With about 5 minutes left to cook the sauce, I added the zucchini spaghetti, mixed it into sauce and allowed everything to cook on low heat until the salmon was done.

I plated the zucchini spaghetti with the salmon and we enjoyed a very tasty meal. It was a treat to just have delicious food along with some pleasant time together!

