I will be spending the weekend at the coast with some friends. All of us are bringing different foods. I will be bringing some protein and snacks as well as some beer. We are  hoping to catch some crabs to make crab cakes. I decided to make a few salads to go with our meals.

First I made a creamy black pepper coleslaw. It was quite easy to make. I just needed a package of chopped green cabbage, 1 cup of grated carrots, and 1/2 cup of chopped fresh parsley. The sauce was made with 1/4 cup of mayonnaise, 2 tablespoons of cider vinegar, 1 tablespoon of water, 2 teaspoons of mustard, 1 teaspoon of ground black pepper, 1 teaspoon of minced garlic and 1/4 teaspoon of salt. I mixed everything together and let the sauce meld with the slaw while it sat in the cooler on the ride to the coast.

I also made a crunchy kale and cabbage salad. For this I used3 cups of baby kale, 1 large julienned carrot, 3-4 julienned radishes and 1/2 cup of dry-roasted peanuts. For the dressing, I mixed 1 coarsely chopped sweet onion, 1 teaspoon of Dijon mustard, 1/2 cup of cider  vinegar, 2 tablespoons of lemon juice, 1/2 teaspoon of sugar, 1/2 teaspoon of kosher salt and 1/2 cup of olive oil. I waited until we were ready to eat the salad to mix the dressing and the peanuts into the salad.

All in all, we ate well as everyone made a contribution to the various meals. My friend Tom brought ingredients for breakfast as well as some burritos for lunch. My friend Jeff provided his house as well as a range of other miscellaneous ingredients. The weather cooperated and everyone had a good time.

